The United Kingdom, the British Isles and England
The United Kingdom (or Great Britain) is situated on the British Isles. The British Isles consist of two large islands, Great Britain and Ireland, and about five thousand small islands. Their total area is over 244.000 square kilometres.
The United Kingdom is made up of four countries: England, Wales, Scotland (on the island of Great Britain), and Northern Ireland (on the island of Ireland). Their capitals are London, Cardiff, Edinburgh, and Belfast respectively. The capital of the UK is London.
The British Isles are separated from the European continent by the North Sea and the English Channel. The western coast of Great Britain is washed by the Atlantic Ocean and the Irish Sea.
The surface of the British Isles varies very much. The north of Scotland is mountainous and is called the Highlands, while the south, which has beautiful valleys and plains, is called the Lowlands. The north and west of England are mountainous, but all the rest cast, centre, and south-east — is a vast plain. Mountains are not  high. Ben Nevis in Scotland is the highest mountain (1.343 m).
There are a lot of rivers in Great Britain, but they are not very long. The Severn is the longest river, while the Thames is the deepest one.
The mountains, the Atlantic Ocean, and the warm waters of Gulf Stream influence on the climate of the British Isles. It is mild the whole year round.
The UK is one of the world's smallest countries. Its population is over 66 million. About 80 % of the population is urban.
The UK is a highly developed industrial country. It is known as one of the world's largest producers and exporters of machinery, electronics, textile, aircraft, and navigation equipment. One of the chief industries of the country is shipbuilding.
The UK is a constitutional monarchy. In law, Head of the State is Queen. In practice, Queen reigns, but does not rule. The country is ruled by the elected government with the Prime Minister at the head. The British Parliament consists of two chambers: the House of Lords and the House of Commons.
There are two main political parties in Great Britain: the Conservative, and the Liberal parties.

1. Where is the United Kingdom situated?
2. What is the area of the United Kingdom?
3. What countries does it consist of?
4. What is the highest mountain on the British Isles?
5. What is the longest river?
6. What is the highest mountain in Wales?
7. What is the northern part of Scotland called?
8. What is the population of the United Kingdom?
9. How many people live in London?
10. What industry is developed in South Wales?
11. What kind of state is the United Kingdom?
12. What houses does the British parliament consist of?
13. What are the main political parties?
14. Who chooses the Cabinet of Ministers?
15. What is the flag of the United Kingdom called?

1. Constitutional monarchy.
2. Snowdon.
3. Highlands.
4. The Union Jack.
5. More than 9 million.
6. Over 244,000 square kilometres
7. England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland.
8. Coal-mining.
9. The Severn.
10. Over 66 million people.
11. On the British Isles.
12. The Prime Minister.
13. Ben Nevis.
14. The House of Lords and the House of Commons.
15. The Conservative and the Liberal Parties.
Последнее изменение: Среда, 18 Сентябрь 2019, 09:55