The Commonwealth of Australia is a self governing federal state. It is situated in the south-west of the Pacific Ocean, occupying the continent of Australia and a great number of islands of which Tasmania is the most important. Australia is a continent-island washed by the Indian and the Pacific Oceans. The country consists of 6 states and 2 territories. 24 million people live in Australia. The capital is Canberra. The official language is English.
Australian Parliament has two chambers: the House of Representatives and the Senate. The government of the country is headed by the Prime Minister.
Australia is not only far from the rest of the world, it has a bad climate, too. The climate is better in the east and south-east, where most big cities have grown-up. But the northern coast has too much rain, and the western coast is too dry. The highest part of Australia and almost all the mountains are near the coast. The whole central part of the country is dry; it never rains, there are no large rivers and no water there. So there is no very rich plant life in Australia, except in the east and south-east.
Australia is an important producer and exporter of primary products: wool, meat, sugar, fruit, black coal, iron, copper, lead, gold and so on. Most of the factories are situated near big cities. There are 4 big cities in Australia: Sydney, Melbourne, Adelaide, and Perth. These cities are also the country's main ports.
Canberra was specially planned as a capital. All the government buildings are situated there. There no industrial plants in the city. About 300000 people live in Canberra. Sydney is the oldest and largest city in Australia. It was founded in 1788. Sydney is a big industrial centre. About 3 million people now live in the city.

1. What is the official name of Australia?
2. What territories are there in the Commonwealth of Australia?
3. What area has Australia?
4. What is the capital of Australia?
5. In what hemisphere is Australia situated?
6. What is the population of Australia?
7. What are the biggest cities in Australia?
8. What is the main occupation in Australia?
9. What agricultural product is Australia famous for?
10. What are the longest rivers?
11. What mountains are there in Australia?
12. What does Australia consist of?
13. What houses does the Federal Parliament consist of ?
14. Who is formally the head of the state?
15. Who represents the Queen of England?

1. Canberra.
2. Six states and two territories.
3. The Queen of England.
4. The Commonwealth of Australia.
5. The South hemisphere.
6. The Australian Alps, the Blue Mountains.
7. Sydney, Melbourne, Adelaide, Perth, Brisbane.
8. The governor-general.
9. Sheep.
10. The Murray and the Darling.
11. About 24 million people.
12. The Continent of Australia, the island of Tasmania and a number of smaller islands.
13. The Senate and the House of Representatives.
14. About 8 million square kilometres.
15. Agriculture.

Последнее изменение: Вторник, 6 Ноябрь 2018, 14:57