1. Where is New Zealand situated?
2. What islands does it consist of?
3. On which island are there many lakes?
4. What sea washes the western coast of New Zealand?
5. What is the highest mountainous range?
6. What is the national emblem of New Zealand?
7. What is the capital?
8. What are the main cities?
9. What is the nickname of New Zealand?
10. Which city resembles Edinburgh?
11. What is the population of New Zealand?
12. Who are the Maoris?
13. What are they famous for?
14. What houses does the Parliament consist of?
15. Who represents the Queen of England?

1. Dunedin.
2. North Island, South Island and Stewart Island, and also many small islands.
3. The House of Representatives.
4. The governor-general.
5. The Southern Alps.
6. The Britain of the Pacific.
7. Wellington.
8. Auckland, Christchurch, Dunedin.
9. The aboriginal Polynesian inhabitants of New Zealand.
10. South-east of Australia.
11. Over 3 million people.
12. Kiwi.
13. Folk songs, music, dances and wood work.
14. North Island
15. The Tasman Sea.

New Zealand
New Zealand is an island country in the Southwest Pacific Ocean. It lies about 1600 km southeast of Australia and about 10 500 km southwest of California. New Zealand belongs to a large island group called Polynesia. The country is situated on two main islands — the North Island and the South Island — and several dozen smaller islands. Most of the smaller islands are hundreds of kilometres from the main ones.
Wellington is the capital of New Zealand and Auckland is the largest city. English is the official language of New Zealand and is spoken throughout the country. Many native people speak their own language Maori, in addition to English.
The country once belonged to the British empire. Today it is an independent member of the Commonwealth of Nations, an association of Britain and a number of its former colonies.
New Zealand is a constitutional monarchy. The British Monarch, Queen Elizabeth II of the United Kingdom, is the monarch of New Zealand. She appoints a governor general to represent her, but the governor general has little power. The legislation, prime minister, and Cabinet run the national government.
Britain gave New Zealand a constitution in 1852, when it was a British colony. But through the years the New Zealand legislature has changed almost all its provisions. Today, the nation has no written constitution.
The first people who settled in New Zealand were a brown-skinned people called Maoris. They came from Polynesian islands located northeast of New Zealand. The country was discovered by Europeans in 1642, but they did not start to settle in the islands until the late 1700's. Today, most New Zealanders are descendants of the early European settlers. Maoris make up about 12 % of the country's population
New Zealand has one of the highest standard of living in the world. For many years, the economy of the country depended largely on agriculture. Today agriculture, manufacturing, and service industries are all important to the economy. New Zealand's economy depends on trade with many countries — Australia, Britain, Japan and the United States.
Последнее изменение: Четверг, 24 Октябрь 2019, 15:21